Ariana Kay winner of 2022 Distinguished Alumni Spirit Award

Spirit Award 2022

Ariana Kay winner of 2022 Distinguished Alumni Spirit Award

Ariana Kay’s favorite time of year at Midwestern State University was always homecoming. From the fish fry and cardboard races to the conversations with alumni returning home, Kay still enjoys the energy of the annual event. The 2022 Spirit Award Winner was involved in making MSU Texas a better place daily in her four years on campus.

Kay, from St. George’s, Grenada, was involved in MSU Biology Club, American Chemical Society Student Chapter, Beta Beta Beta Honor Society, Gamma Sigma Epsilon, and Caribbean Students Organization.

She earned her Bachelor of Science in Chemistry from MSU Texas in 2011 and her master’s degree in learning and technology at Western Governors University in 2020. She is an instructional coach and science teacher in Refugio, Texas.

Kay was named the State of Texas High School Science Teacher of the Year in 2018 and Top Tech Teacher at Crosby High School from 2017-19. She is an executive board member for the Science Teachers Association of Texas.

She recalls taking organic chemistry from Dr. Chris Hansen. "It was the only class in college I didn’t need a textbook for,” she said. It was Hansen’s passion for teaching, and the subject matter, that motivated this Spirit Award Winner to tap into that passion for her career. She says she owes it all to MSU Texas!

Related Links

Distinguished Alumni: Gunn College
Ferrell had stellar 37-year career in Texas Air National Guard
Distinguished Alumni: West College of Education
Delores Whitehead Jackson served in Air Force for 20 years in human relations training
Distinguished Alumni: McCoy College
Kandyce Kenney Bohannon has 15 published patent applications
Distingished Alumni: Protho-Yeager College
Study abroad experience set stage for Richard Young's career success
Distinguished Alumni: Dillard College of Business Administration
Oil executive Warren Ayres has been pillar of Wichita Falls community since graduation from MSU Texas
2022 GOLD Award
Jennifer Arbuckle honored as Graduate of the Last Decade
Arthur F. Beyer Distinguished Alumna
Diann James Taylor served more than 40 years in education
Distinguished Alumni: Fain College of Fine Arts
Melanie Donart Hadderton enjoyed 34 years as band director