News Menu

MSU News

iNews Publisher 2.5
MSU Texas students earn Best Special Broadcast award
Printer Friendly ... Export to MS Word Document ... Export to plain text document ...
Filed under Public Information on Monday, July 22, 2019 by Author: Public Information.

A 2017 documentary produced by students in the Midwestern State University Mass Communication Department was recently named best special broadcast in the national Collegiate Broadcasters Inc. competition. 

The program, “Mr. Midwestern,” was produced by MSU students Natalie Burkhart, Dayton Chambers, Taylor McCloure and Megan Piehler. “Mr. Midwestern” is based on Leroy McIlhaney, a longtime volunteer for MSU Texas athletics. 

Also, MSU students Sterling Ellison and Jared Tuilagi were finalists in the best sports reporting category for a package they produced about the Special Olympics. CBI is a national organization with around 200 members, and this year’s competition drew 400 entries from all over the United States.

MSU students were also finalists in 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2009, 2010 and 2012, with a 2005 documentary winning the Best Special Broadcast award. 

Photo credit: Bradley Wilson

Photo info: The winning MSU Texas documentary team, left-to-right, of Taylor McCloure, Dayton Chambers, Megan Piehler, and Natalie Burkhart.

Related Articles
There are no related articles.

Developed by