Shelley Sweatt among new appointees to System Board of Regents

Shelley Sweatt among new appointees to System Board of Regents

Texas Gov. Greg Abbott appointed three new members, including Shelley Sweatt of Wichita Falls, to the Texas Tech University System Board of Regents for terms set to expire on Jan. 31, 2029, his office announced on March 13.

Other new appointees are Clay C. Cash (Lubbock), president of Cash Family investments; and Tim G. Culp (Midland), president of Southwest Royalties, Inc., and Desert Production, Inc.

Sweatt, Ed.D., is the president and CEO of The Priddy Foundation and president of The Priddy Foundation Board of Trustees. She is a member of the Texas Woman’s University Board of Regents and previously served as a member of the Midwestern State University Board of Regents.

Prior to retiring from education, she held numerous positions within the Burkburnett Independent School District, including high school chemistry teacher, high school assistant principal and executive director of curriculum, instruction and assessment. She is an honorary life member of Texas Association of School Administrators, a member of Exponent Philanthropy, Grantmakers for Effective Organizations, Philanthropy Roundtable and a sustaining member of the Junior League of Wichita Falls.

She currently serves as a board member for organizations including the Wichita Falls Chamber of Commerce, Texas Rural Funders and Philanthropy Southwest, where she also serves as past chairwoman of the Professional Learning Committee and co-chair of the Annual Conference Planning Committee.

 “On behalf of the Texas Tech University System, I’d like to congratulate and welcome our three new regents,” said Tedd L. Mitchell, M.D., chancellor of the TTU System. “Our system and component universities are experiencing tremendous momentum, and we look forward to each of our new regents joining our system family and collaborating with us to chart a bright future. I also want to thank J. Michael Lewis, John Steinmetz and John Walker for their years of service to our board and university system – we have accomplished remarkable achievements during their tenure of leadership, and we are grateful for their years of support.”

About the Texas Tech University System

Established in 1996, the Texas Tech University System is one of the top public university systems in the nation, consisting of five universities – Texas Tech University, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center, Angelo State University, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center El Paso and Midwestern State University.

Headquartered in Lubbock, Texas, the TTU System is a $2.65 billion enterprise focused on advancing higher education, health care, research and outreach with approximately 21,000 employees and 63,000 students, more than 375,000 alumni, a statewide economic impact of $16.4 billion and an endowment valued at $1.7 billion. In its short history, the TTU System has grown tremendously and is nationally acclaimed, operating at 24 academic locations in 21 cities (19 in Texas, 2 international).

In addition, the TTU System is one of only nine in the nation to offer programs for undergraduate, medical, law, nursing, pharmacy, dental and veterinary education, among other academic areas.