Spring 2022 Medal for Excellence

MSU Texas names President’s Medal for Excellence recipients

Students graduating with the highest grade point averages from each of the six academic colleges were honored at the Midwestern State University commencement ceremony held May 7. The President’s Medal for Excellence winners received their medals from Interim President James Johnston.

General business major Mariangela Mendoza graduated summa cum laude from the Dillard College of Business Administration.

Maria M. Lira, a major in early childhood through grade 6, earned summa cum laude honors from the Gordon T. & Ellen West College of Education.

Kristen R. Longo and Andi N. Newberry, art majors, graduated summa cum laude from the Lamar D. Fain College of Fine Arts.

Dental hygiene majors Darian A. Berend and Ashlynn M. Hoff and radiologic technology major Shali M. Hartman graduated summa cum laude from the Robert D. & Carol Gunn College of Health Sciences & Human Services.

Political science major Brendon P. Miller graduated summa cum laude from the Prothro-Yeager College of Humanities & Social Sciences.

Hayley R. Liddiard, chemistry major, and Lauren A. Stancik, geosciences major, earned magna cum laude honors from the McCoy College of Science, Mathematics & Engineering.

Summa cum laude graduates have a minimum grade point average of 3.9 while the GPA for magna cum laude graduates ranges from 3.7-3.89.