Curry named 2020 Hardin Professor

Colleges name faculty award recipients

Curry named 2020 Hardin Professor

Dr. Leann Curry, Chair of Curriculum and Learning, was named Hardin Professor for 2020 during Midwestern State University’s virtual commencement ceremony June 6. Hardin Professor is the highest honor bestowed upon a faculty member at the university each year.

Curry began her MSU Texas career as an instructor in 2004. She was promoted to Assistant Professor in 2014 and named Chair of the Department of Curriculum and Learning in 2015. She was granted tenure and promoted to Associate Professor in 2019. She earned a B.S. in Interdisciplinary Studies and an M.Ed. in Reading, both from MSU, and received her Ph.D in Literacy and Language Studies from the University of North Texas.

She has 12 publications in several peer-reviewed journals, five different book contributions, and 42 presentations at state, national, and international levels. She has received the West College of Education Faculty award three times. She also engages her undergraduate students in research projects and has mentored and presented with them on seven occasions.

The Hardin Foundation for Wichita County established the annual award in 1962 for a member of the MSU faculty whose teaching and research during the preceding 12 months has brought distinction to the faculty member and the institution. The award carries with it a stipend of $5,000. Curry is the 60th professor to receive the honor.

Individual college faculty awards also were announced at the virtual commencement. These awards were decided by a committee of their peers within their respective colleges.


Prothro-Yeager College of Humanities & Social Sciences

Excellence in Scholarship – Dr. Tyler Williams

Excellence in Teaching – Dr. Sara Butler


Robert D. & Carol Gunn College of Health Sciences & Human Services

Excellence in Scholarship – Dr. Randy Case

Excellence in Teaching – Dr. Michelle Hall


Dillard College of Business Administration

Excellence in Scholarship – Dr. Sarah Quintanar

Excellence in Teaching – Mr. John Vowell


Lamar D. Fain College of Fine Arts

Excellence in Scholarship – Mr. Gary Goldberg

Excellence in Teaching – Dr. Mitzi Lewis


Gordon T. & Ellen West College of Education

Excellence in Scholarship – Dr. Stacia Miller

Excellence in Teaching – Dr. Tim Hinchman


McCoy College of Science, Mathematics & Engineering

Excellence in Scholarship – Dr. Fu-Cheng Liang

Excellence in Teaching – Dr. Marcos Lopez