'Little Shop of Horrors' next MSU Texas Theatre production

Little Shop of Horrors

'Little Shop of Horrors' next MSU Texas Theatre production

The unlikely dark musical comedy about an alien man-eating plant, Little Shop of Horrors by Alan Menkin and Howard Ashman, is coming to Midwestern State University. The Department of Theatre will present the musical at 7:30 p.m. Thursday-Saturday, March 5-8, and at 2:30 p.m. Saturday and Sunday, March 7-8, in the Fain Fine Arts Center Theatre.

The stage musical, based on the 1960 Roger Corman film, The Little Shop of Horrors, tells of a loveable florist shop worker who raises a plant that feeds on human blood and flesh. “Little Shop of Horrors is a comedy/horror rock musical in the style of early 1960s rock and roll, doo-wop, and early Motown,” said director and Assistant Professor of Theatre Sally Story. It includes audience favorites “Somewhere That’s Green” and “Suddenly, Seymour.”

Story said Little Shop was selected for its widespread appeal and familiarity for audience members. “Plus, it’s a fun show for our students in which they can be involved both on and off the stage,” she said.

The cast includes:

Seymour – Steven Singleton II

Audrey – Jordan Ingram

Audrey II – Tyler Williams (singing) and Kendall Jones (speaking)

Chiffon – Kara Hicks

Crystal – Maddie Clowers

Ronette – Emory Arnold

Mushnik – Calvin Russell

Orin – Luke Draper

A Voice – Tyler Williams

Customer – Macy Mullins

Interviewer – Rebecca Crabtree

Burstein the Reporter – Mikey Alpers

Mrs. Luce – Nicole Smalls

Skip Snip Agent – Ian Kirkpatrick

Patrick Martin – Cody Bowers

Ensemble –

Brea Solis                    Fisher Siegler 

Tyler Williams             Kyle Cody

Macy Mullins              CJ Whisnand

Rebecca Crabtree       Cody Bowers

Nicole Smalls              Ian Kirkpatrick

Shiori Watishima        Mikey Alpers

Hannah Kelly

The stage musical received the 1983 Drama Desk award for Outstanding Musical and the 1983 New York Drama Critics Circle Award for Best Musical. Little Shop was remade into the 1986 film with Rick Moranis and a new version is in pre-production now.

General admission tickets are $10. Price is $8 for pre-college students, senior citizens, and military. MSU students, faculty, and staff will be admitted free.

For more information or for season ticket or group ticket information, call the box office at 940-397-4393, the publicity office at 940-397-4399, or the Department of Theatre at 940-397-4670.


Little Shop of Horrors cast

Little Shop of Horrors cast

Photo caption: Jordan Ingram (foreground left) and Steven Singleton II play Audrey and Seymour in the MSU Texas Department of Theatre’s production of the dark musical comedy Little Shop of Horrors. (background l-r) Emory Arnold, Kara Hicks, and Maddie Clowers play doo-wop chorus girls Ronette, Chiffon, and Crystal.