MSU Texas student media wins 30 awards at TIPA

MSU Texas student media wins 30 awards at TIPA

MSU Texas student media wins 30 awards at TIPA

Midwestern State University's student media won 30 awards at the annual Texas Intercollegiate Press Association competition in Corpus Christi.

The student-produced newscast "Mustang News" was awarded third place for overall excellence, while student-produced sportscast "Sports Scene" was awarded first place for overall excellence.

MSU was awarded second place in the overall Director's Cup competition for on-site contests.

Junior mass communication major Cortney Wood won the Harold Gunn Scholarship, awarded by TIPA to two students annually.

Individual students won six first-place awards, six second-place awards, 11 third-place awards and four honorable mentions.

Those earning first-place awards include Gavin Belle, television public service announcement; Stephen Gomez, television advertising; Brittany Hill, radio sports writing; Karin Pierce, Jessica Wollenberger, Taylor Morrison, and Patrick German, television production; Brittni Vilandre, newspaper design; and Ara Washburn, television news writing.

Second-place awards went to Tommy Chhe and Chloe Phillips, multimedia news; Leo Gonzalez, feature photo; Jenna Horn, Samuel Sutton and Taylor Warren, documentary; Tyler Manning, critical review; Samuel Mitchell, television public service announcement; and Ara Washburn, television announcing.

Third-place award recipients were Halie Aldridge, Morgan Haire, Cydney Menzik, and Ara Washburn, audio production; Taylor Anderson, newspaper column; Tommy Chhe and Chloe Phillips, multimedia news; Sterling Ellison, television sports writing; Stephen Gomez, sports photo; Sarah Graves, public relations crisis management; Sarah Graves, public relations press release writing; Sarah Graves, print sports writing; Justin Marquart, newspaper special edition design; Cortney Wood, feature story; and Cortney Wood, magazine design.

Honorable mention awards went to Brittany Hill, radio news writing; Justin Marquart, newspaper feature page design; Ara Washburn, radio advertising; and Cortney Wood, yearbook design.

TIPA is a statewide organization of journalism and mass communication programs. Its annual convention/competition attracts about 75 universities and 500 students.

Contact Dr. Jim Sernoe, Mass Communication Dept. Chair, at 940-397-4391 or for more information.

(back row, l-r) Chair of the Mass Communication Department Jim Sernoe with TIPA winners Tyler Manning, Leo Gonzalez, Stephen Gomez, (front) Sterling Ellison, Ara Washburn, Cortney Wood, Sarah Graves, and Brittney Hill.