MSU Mass Comm documentary wins broadcasting honor

MSU Mass Comm documentary wins broadcasting honor

"Cenosillicaphobia," produced by students in the Midwestern State University Mass Communication Department, was recently named best documentary in the South Central Broadcasting Society competition.

The program was produced by MSU students Ruby Contreras, Kristen Gregg, Eddie Naidicz, and Olivia Zamora. Cenosillicaphobia is the fear of an empty glass.

Ten MSU students were also finalists: Sterling Ellison, best sports package; Sarah Graves and Brendan Wynne, best informational or entertainment video; Jenna Horn, best short film; Jenna Horn, Sam Sutton, and Taylor Weaver, best documentary; Taylor Morrison, best promotional video; and Nizhoni Roberts, Naomi Skinner, and Dierrica Smith, best documentary.

SCBS includes 35 schools in a six-state region. Mass Communication Department Chair Dr. Jim Sernoe noted that schools of all sizes are included. "Some of the other finalists were from schools like Oklahoma and Texas Tech, which are considerably larger than MSU Texas," he said. "It's gratifying to know we can hold our own with anyone in the country."

Contact Sernoe at 940-397-4391 or Mass Communication Assistant Professor and MNG Media Adviser Jonathon Quam at 940-397-4849 for more information.