MSU names President's Medal of Excellence recipients

Students graduating with the highest grade point averages from each of the six academic colleges were honored at the Midwestern State University commencement ceremony held May 13. The President's Medal of Excellence winners received their medals from President Suzanne Shipley.

Earning summa cum laude honors from the Dillard College of Business Administration were accounting majors Scott Nicolas Perez, Rachel Marie Smith, and Careisha K'nichÚ J. Whyte.

Sydnee Janaye Pottorf, a special education major, graduated summa cum laude from the Gordon T. and Ellen West College of Education.

Megan Carol Piehler graduated summa cum laude with a major in mass communication from the Lamar D. Fain College of Fine Arts.

Earning summa cum laude honors from the Robert D. and Carol Gunn College of Health Sciences and Human Services were Ashley Yennhi Tran, dental hygiene; Renatta Lynthia Graham, respiratory care; Allen Wayne Curts, radiologic sciences; and Maegan Danielle Thurston, radiologic technology.

Careisha K'nichÚ J. Whyte, a sociology major, graduated summa cum laude from the Prothro-Yeager College of Humanities and Social Sciences. Whyte is a dual degree recipient.

Jordan Taylor Carter, a biology major; Mason Scott Ellis, a double major in mathematics and computer science; and Suman Bhandari, a mechanical engineering major; graduated summa cum laude from the College of Science and Mathematics.

Summa cum laude graduates must have a minimum of a 3.9 grade point average.