MSU mass comm students bring home TIPA awards

MSU mass comm students bring home TIPA awards

Midwestern State University's student media won 27 awards at the annual Texas Intercollegiate Press Association competition March 30-April 1 in Dallas.

The student-produced newspaper The Wichitan was awarded second place for overall excellence, while student-produced yearbook Wai-Kun won an honorable mention for overall excellence.

Individual students won four first-place awards, five second-place awards, seven third-place awards and eight honorable mentions.

Junior mass communication major Nizhoni Terronez won the Frank Buckley Scholarship, awarded by TIPA to four students annually.

First-place award winners included Zeno Ferguson, yearbook sports action photo; Dylan Hall, Rachel Johnson and Bridget Reilly, newspaper picture story; Amber Moore-Mentavlos, yearbook cover design; and Yvette Ordonez and Brianna Sheen, newspaper in-depth reporting.


Attending the 2017 Texas Intercollegiate Press Association Convention and competition in Dallas March 30-April 1 were (l-r) Jacklyn York, Yvette Ordonez, Mass Communication Chair Jim Sernoe, Kristina Abeyta, Nizhoni Terronez, and Assistant Professor Jonathon Quam.