MSU Names President's Distinguished Scholars

Ten students, including three from Wichita County, have been named recipients of Midwestern State University's President's Distinguished Scholarships. Each will receive $28,000 over four years of undergraduate study. The program recognizes the leadership abilities of superior incoming freshmen and encourages their participation as MSU campus leaders.

The 2014 recipients are Brady Brunson, Burkburnett High School, son of Kelly and Diana Brunson of Burkburnett; Mateo Herrera, Travis Early College High School, son of Ernest Orlando Herrera of San Antonio; Caleb Levell, Rider High School, son of Anthony and Karie Levell of Wichita Falls; Isaac Linnabary, South Grand Prairie High School, son of Derek and Marna Linnabary of Grand Prairie; Katherine Pendergrass, Margaret Talkington School for Young Women Leaders, daughter of Peter and Desiree Pendergrass of Lubbock; Parker Short, Rider High School, son of Tim and Kerri Short of Wichita Falls; Rachel Smith, Peaster High School, daughter of Roger and Teresa Smith of Weatherford, Texas; Matthew Tyer, Midway High School, son of Mike and Lisa Tyer of Hewitt, Texas; Dylan Watts, Liberty High School, son of Erik and Priscilla Watts of Colorado Springs, Colo.; and Hailey Wood, Anna High School, daughter of Shane and Cristy Wood of Anna, Texas.