Art Professor Receives Fulbright Specialists Award

Art Professor Receives Fulbright Specialists Award

Elizabeth Yarosz-Ash, Professor of Art, was selected for a Fulbright Specialists project in Grenada, West Indies, at St. George's University during November 3 - 16. Yarosz-Ash conducted painting and printmaking workshops for teachers and students at St. George's University, T.A. Marryshow Community College, and teachers from sister island Carriacou.

Yarosz-Ash is the first Fulbright in the history of St. George's University to visit the university.  She is also the first Fulbright on the faculty to represent Midwestern State University. Accompanying Yarosz-Ash were MSU students Lizca Bass of St. Kitts and Bernard Peters of Antigua.

Yarosz-Ash is one of more than 400 U.S. faculty and professionals who traveled abroad this year through the Fulbright Specialists Program. The Fulbright Specialists Program, created in 2000 to complement the traditional Fulbright Scholar Program, provides short-term academic opportunities (two to six weeks) to prominent U.S. faculty and professionals to support curricular and faculty development and institutional planning at post secondary, academic institutions around the world.

The Fulbright Program, America's flagship international educational exchange activity, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. During its 60 years of existence, thousands of U.S. faculty and professionals have taught, studied or conducted research abroad, and thousands of their counterparts from other countries have engaged in similar activities in the United States. More than 285,000 emerging leaders in their professional fields have received Fulbright awards, including individuals who later became heads of government, Nobel Prize winners, and leaders in education, business, journalism, the arts and other fields. 

Recipients of Fulbright Scholar awards are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement. Among thousands of prominent Fulbright Scholar alumni are Milton Friedman, Nobel Prize-winning economist; Alan Leshner, CEO of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS); Rita Dove, Pulitzer Prize-winning poet; and Craig Barrett, Chairman of the Board of Intel Corporation. Distinguished Fulbright Specialist participants include Mahmoud Ayoub, Professor of Religion at Temple University; Heidi Hartmann, President and CEO, Institute for Women's Policy Research; Percy R. Luney Jr. Dean and Professor, College of Law, Florida A&M University; and Emily Vargas-Barone, Founder and Executive Director of the RISE Institute.

For further information about the Fulbright Specialists Program, please contact or consult Learn more about Yarosz-Ash's project at