MSU's NSCS Chapter Honors Two Faculty Members

MSU's NSCS Chapter Honors Two Faculty Members

Dr. Michael Preda and Dr. Salim Azzouz were named Distinguished Members of the Midwestern State University Chapter of the National Society of Collegiate Scholars (NSCS) September 28.

Azzouz is Associate Professor in the McCoy School of Engineering and Preda is Professor of Political Science and Director of the Bachelor of Applied Arts and Sciences Program. The Distinguished Member title is given to faculty who model the organization's ideals of scholarship, leadership, and integrity on campus.

After Azzouz and Preda's induction, 35 student members were inducted into the chapter. The MSU chapter now has more than 100 members and is one of the newest and fastest-growing chapters nationwide. Members take part in service projects throughout the year and hold meet-and-greet sessions and social gatherings.

Officers for MSU's NSCS chapter include Ryian Williams, president; Rachel Whatley, community service vice president; Cherdon Parry, events vice president; Shennel Arthurton, treasurer; Shelby Davis, public relations vice president; Courtney Harville, STAR status coordinator; and Damali Greenaway, social media vice president.

The National Society of Collegiate Scholars is an honors organization that recognizes and elevates high achievers. NSCS provides career and graduate school connections, leadership and service opportunities, and offers more than $500,000 in scholarships annually. NSCS members are committed to scholarship, leadership, and service and as a result, positively influence their campuses and local communities.

NSCS is a nonprofit organization founded in 1994 on the campus of George Washington University in Washington, D.C. NSCS is a member of the Association of College Honor Societies and is a recognized organization at more than 300 campuses across the country.