MSU Communication Students Receive Statewide Recognition

MSU Communication Students Receive Statewide Recognition

At the statewide conference of the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association April 4-6 in Fort Worth, 24 Midwestern State University students received recognition in on-site competitions and for work previously published.

"TIPA was a really great learning experience for us," Landry Russell, a senior in mass communication / broadcasting, said. "I really learned a lot from the open discussion with Kathleen McElroy [a former editor at the New York Times and now a graduate student at the University of Texas at Austin], and I had a lot of fun with all the contests I took part in."

Russell, a staff member of Campus Watch, placed in two on-site competitions, honorable mention in radio announcing and third place in TV sports writing.

Brooke Long, who also placed in two on-site competitions, said, "Doing well at competition is always fun. I just hope everyone learned as much as I did from the experience."

Long, also a staff member of Campus Watch, placed first in TV news writing for a story she wrote about a train derailment simulated at the Tarrant County College fire training facility. She also placed second in radio sports writing.

The MSU student newspaper, The Wichitan, tied for third place in its division for overall excellence.

Two documentaries produced in Assistant Professor of Mass Communication Jim Gorham's senior documentary class also received recognition. The documentary on Down Syndrome, "Not Just a Syndrome," by Sarah Long, Kristina Davidson, P.J. Grundy, Josh Hayter and Cora Kuykendall, placed first in television public affairs. The documentary, "Legacy: Remember Honor Serve," produced by Brandi Stroud, Eric Smith, Neneh Abbey, Brady Tyler and Alexandra McClung, received an honorable mention in television documentary.

Seven students attended the conference and attended sessions on everything from media law to general photography.

MSU Associate Professor and Mass Communication Department Chair Jim Sernoe taught a class on media law, "What They'd Rather You Not Know: FERPA, Open Records and Open Meetings Laws." In addition, he was elected as the next president of the statewide association.

MSU Assistant Professor and Director of Student Media Bradley Wilson taught four classes: sports photography, a general photography session, a technical photography session and "Trends in Design."

On-Site competition results:

Aleisha Solorio, third place, copy editing

Brooke Long, first place, TV news writing

Brooke Long, second place, radio sports writing

Jasmine Jones, second place, radio news writing

Landry Russell, honorable mention, radio announcing

Landry Russell, third place, TV sports writing


Submitted competition results:

AndrÚ Gonzalez, third place, news feature story

Brandi Stroud, second place, critical review

Brittney Cottingham, second place, news feature story

Chris Collins, first place, single subject design

Chris Collins, second place, in-depth reporting

Hannah Hofmann, first place, photo illustration

Hannah Hofmann, first place, sports feature photo

Hannah Hofmann, first place, sports page design

Hannah Hofmann, third place, page one design

Johnny Blevins, honorable mention, editorial cartoon

Keri Carter, honorable mention, feature photo

Orlando Flores, Jr., second place, sports feature story

Orlando Flores, Jr., third place, sports news story

Ruth Fitzgerald-Black, honorable mention, general column

Samantha Barba, honorable mention, video sports non-feature story

Sarah Long, honorable mention, special edition/section

Sarah Long, third place, editorial

Sarah Long, Kristina Davidson, P.J. Grundy, Josh Hayter, Cora Kuykendall, first place, television public affairs

Brandi Stroud, Eric Smith, Neneh Abbey, Brady Tyler and Alexandra McClung, honorable mention, television documentary



The Wichitan, third place, overall excellence