Students Win 23 Awards at Annual TIPA Competition

Students Win 23 Awards at Annual TIPA Competition

Midwestern State University's student media won 23 awards at the annual Texas Intercollegiate Press Association competition in Corpus Christi on March 31.

The student-produced literary magazine Voices was awarded second place for overall excellence, while individual students won six first-place awards, six second-place awards, six third-place awards, and three honorable mentions. 

Senior mass communication major Hannah Hofmann won the Frank Buckley Scholarship, awarded by TIPA to four students annually. 

Those earning first-place awards included:

Sarah Kate Allsup, Derrius Burks, Courtney Clarkin and Donace Wilkinson, television public affairs program;

Rachel Bingham, sports feature story;

Chris Collins, Brittney Cottingham and Hannah Hofmann, single subject design;

Brittney Cottingham, news feature story;

Joshua Ibarra, magazine feature story;

Brittany Norman, magazine story package.


Those earning second-place awards included:

Nitie Atamenwan, sports news story;

Jaleesa Bealom, television sports writing;

Kassie Bruton, picture story;

Hannah Hofmann, sports feature photo;

Dimery Michaels, public relations crisis management;

Novelle Williams, magazine feature photo.


Those earning third-place awards included:

Nitie Atamenwan and Hannah Hofmann, sports page design;

Nicola Clement, magazine feature story;

Chris Collins, newspaper photo illustration;

Sherriale Garnett, Cambria Jones, Wes Nakwaasah and Brittany Walsh, television public affairs program;

Patrick Johnston, Liz Mowrey and Candyce Parish, television production;

Debora Teixeira, poem.


Those earning honorable mention awards included:

Jaleesa Bealom, television news writing;

Orlando Flores, critical review;

Anastasia Reed, television sports non-feature story.


TIPA is a statewide organization of journalism and mass communication programs. Its annual convention/competition attracts about 75 universities and 500 students. The story was updated in July 2022 to reflect a name change.