Hardin and Clark Scholars named

The Hardin and Clark Scholars, the top academic honors at Midwestern State University, and other outstanding students were named Tuesday night at the Academic Honors Dinner held at the Wichita Falls Country Club.

Rebecca Bullion, a biology major, was named Hardin Scholar. This is the university's highest award for academic excellence and was begun in 1961 by the Hardin Foundation. It is presented each spring to a student during his or her senior year and a $2,500 award is given with the honor.

Bullion serves as a resident assistant for the Office of Housing. She is a member of the Biology Club and the Honors Program. She serves as historian of the Pre-Professional Club and has been a Spirit Days Peer Counselor, a Mustangs Rally host and a volunteer at the Math, Science, and U Girls Conference. She has been on the President's Honor Roll each of the semesters she has been at MSU.

Erin Kathleen Short, a chemistry major, was named Clark Scholar. The Clark award was established in 1976 to honor E. B. Clark, a former chairman of the Board of Trustees of the MSU Foundation. It is presented each spring to a student in his or her junior year and carries with it a $1,500 award.

Short is a President's Leadership Scholar, Honors Program Scholar, and Harrison Pre-Med Scholar. She is a member of the Biology Club, Beta Beta Beta, Student Ambassadors, and University Programming Board. Short has also served as a Peer Counselor for Mustangs Rally and Spirit Days.