The Hardin and Clark Scholars, the top academic honors at Midwestern State University

Jorge Antonio Paramo, a physics and manufacturing engineering technology major, was named Hardin Scholar. This is the university's highest award for academic excellence and was begun in 1961 by the Hardin Foundation. It is presented each spring to a student during his or her senior year and a $2,500 award is given with the honor. Paramo serves as president for the Math Club and the Society of Physics Students.

He is also Chair Elect for the Society of Manufacturing Engineers. He is a member of the Catholic Campus Center, the National Association of Computing and Machinery and the American Physical Society. He is one of 80 people to represent the USA in the International Mission of Engineering in China this summer and was elected Man of the Year for Society of Manufacturing Engineers. Ruthi Burns, a keyboard performance major, was named Clark Scholar.

The Clark award was established in 1976 to honor e. B. Clark, a former chairman of the Board of Trustees of the MSU Foundation. It is presented each spring to a student in his or her junior year and carries with it a $1,500 award. Burns is a member Chi Omega sorority, MSU Penhellelnic Council, MSU University Singers and the Peace Action Coalition. Outstanding MSU students for each class were also recognized at the banquet.

Bobby Dale Thomas Jr. and Mindy Lethcoe were named MSU Man and Woman of the Year. Thomas is an accounting and business computer information systems major. He is president and webmaster for Alpha Chi National Junior/Senior Honor Society, Mortar Board National Senior Honor Society and Phi Eta Sigma National Freshman Honor Society. He is also a member of the Accounting Society, Association for Systems Management, Institute of Management Accountants and the Texas Society of Certified Public Accountants. Lethcoe is a mass communications major. She is student ambassador, secretary/treasurer for the Media Club, historian for Mortar Board, and news editor for the Wichitan and president of the Latter-day Saints Student Organization. She is also senior advisor for Alpha Lambda Delta and Phi Eta sigma Freshman Honor Societies. She is a President's Leadership Scholar and has been named to Who's Who Among College Students. Outstanding Graduate Man was James Coursey, an English major. He is president of Sigma Tau Delta and a member of Psi Chi, the English Club and French Club. Outstanding Graduate Woman was Sridevi Movva. Her major is computer science. She serves as treasurer of the International Students Association, secretary for Habitat for Humanity, president of the Association for Computing Machinery and is a member of Upsilon Pi Epsilon. Outstanding Senior Man was Byron Winston, an environmental science major. Winston is a member of the Caribbean Students Organization, Biology Club, Alpha Chi, Tri Beta, Geology Club and Environmental Science Club. Outstanding Senior woman was Yewande Akinwolemiwa, an international studies major. She is a member of the University Programming Board and the Caribbean Students Organization. She serves as president of the International Students Association and is senator for Alpha Chi Honor Society and Student Government Association. She is also a student ambassador, College Day Preview host and a senior resident assistant. Outstanding Junior Man was Robert Zachary Duncan and Outstanding Junior Woman was Aisha Howell. Outstanding Sophomore Man was Wayne Daniel and Outstanding Sophomore Woman was Melissa Yip. Outstanding Freshman Man was Raul Peters and Outstanding Freshman Woman was Angela Smith. The following were recipients of special academic awards: Todd Steven Bruno won the Mark Lax Scholarship; Lindia Nicholas was named the Mortar Board Scholar; Shonna Diggs received the Ex-Students Award; Darpan Sahni Kumar won the Wichita County Medical Society Award; the Catholic Campus Center won the James L. Stewart Service Award; Raul Peters was named Alpha Chi Scholar; and Lisa Blanchard won the Viola Grady Leadership Scholarship.